National Domestic Violence Order Scheme

All Domestic Violence Orders (DVOs) issued in an Australian state or territory from 25 November 2017 are automatically recognised and enforceable across Australia.


The National Domestic Violence Order Scheme aims to better protect victims and their families.


Existing state and territory laws protecting victims and affected family members from domestic violence have not changed. Local police will enforce the conditions regardless of where the DVO was issued.


Victoria is the only state whose new laws will ensure all existing active domestic violence orders made in Victoria before 25 November 2017 will be automatically included in the National Domestic Violence Order Scheme.


This means that Victorian victim survivors of family violence will not have to apply to a court for a declaration to include their existing active orders in the national scheme – instead this will occur automatically.


The following video provides a quick overview of the National Domestic Violence Order Scheme:


A transcript of the video can be read at


If a DVO was issued prior to 25 November 2017, it can be declared at any time to ensure victims are protected nationwide by applying to any local court in Australia. It does not need to be a local court in the state or territory where the DVO was issued.


A DVO does not need to be declared as nationally recognised if the victim is not travelling interstate and the primary residence is the same state or territory that the domestic violence order was issued.


If a DVO was issued on or after 25 November 2017, it will be automatically recognised nationally and no further action is required. If you have enquiries relating to your personal situation, contact your local court.


Brochure are available to download in multiple languages at


State and territory contacts


If you are unsure if you need to take action or if you have any further questions please contact your local court or visit your relevant state or territory link listed below.




Australian Capital Territory

ACT Magistrates Court

New South Wales

New South Wales Local Court

Northern Territory

Northern Territory Government - Courts and Tribunals


Queensland Courts

South Australia

Courts Administration Authority of South Australia


Tasmanian Department of Justice (official page to be updated)


Magistrates' Court of Victoria

Western Australia

Western Australia Department of Justice


Related information:

ABC News - “Domestic Violence Order Scheme comes in to effect providing nationwide protections


25 November 2017.