Draft Aged Care Quality Standards

The Federal Department of Health has worked with the aged care sector to develop the draft Aged Care Quality Standards which have now been released.

A single set of quality standards is a key deliverable of the Single Aged Care Quality Framework.

The Aged Care Quality Standards will apply to all aged care services and will replace the current four sets of aged care standards. The Standards have been structured so that organisations will only have to meet the Standards that are relevant to them.

The Standards will replace:

  • Accreditation Standards
  • Home Care Standards
  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flexible Aged Care Program Quality Framework Standards
  • Transition Care Standards.

The Aged Care Quality Standards will apply to all aged care services including residential care, home care, flexible care and services under the Commonwealth Home Support Program.

The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency is developing guidance and educational material to support the Standards and has commenced piloting of the draft Standards and guidance material.

Subject to agreement by the Government, the Standards are expected to be implemented from 1 July 2018.

A 12-month transition period will apply, which means that assessment against the new Standards will commence from 1 July 2019.

The draft Aged Care Quality Standards are available on the Federal Department’s website https://agedcare.health.gov.au/quality/single-set-of-aged-care-quality-standards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *